{"id":62,"date":"2026-08-18T12:10:40","date_gmt":"2026-08-18T12:10:40","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/estates\/chateaux_de_valrose\/"},"modified":"2026-08-20T11:11:45","modified_gmt":"2026-08-20T11:11:45","slug":"chateaux_de_valrose","status":"publish","type":"page","link":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/fr\/estates\/france\/cannes-nice\/chateaux_de_valrose\/","title":{"rendered":"chateaux de Valrose"},"content":{"rendered":"<h1 align=\"center\">Chateaux de Valrose<\/h1>\n<h2 align=\"left\"><strong>Ch\u00e2teau de Valrose, Nice \u2014 winter residence rented by the Tereshchenko family in 1900.<\/strong><\/h2>\n<p class=\"PDq2pG_selectionAnchorContainer\" data-end=\"390\" data-start=\"71\">The estate occupies approximately <strong data-end=\"197\" data-start=\"158\">10 hectares at 28 avenue de Valrose<\/strong>, below Cimiez, and is now the headquarters and science campus of Universit\u00e9 C\u00f4te d\u2019Azur. The principal ch\u00e2teau is protected as a French historic monument.<\/p>\n<p data-end=\"810\" data-start=\"392\">The Grand Ch\u00e2teau was begun in <strong data-end=\"431\" data-start=\"423\">1867<\/strong> for the Russian railway financier <strong data-end=\"492\" data-start=\"466\">Baron Paul von Derwies<\/strong>. The official university history credits David Grimm, Mikha\u00efl Makaroff and Antonio Crocci; French heritage records additionally identify Maraini, B\u00e9renger and landscape designer Joseph Carl\u00e8s. The building is neo-Gothic, constructed in pale tuffeau stone with a steep slate roof.<\/p>\n<p data-end=\"833\" data-start=\"812\">The grounds included:<\/p>\n<ul data-end=\"1080\" data-start=\"835\">\n<li data-end=\"866\" data-start=\"835\">the Grand and Petit Ch\u00e2teaux;<\/li>\n<li data-end=\"920\" data-start=\"867\">an opera theatre constructed between 1871 and 1873;<\/li>\n<li data-end=\"942\" data-start=\"921\">an ornamental lake;<\/li>\n<li data-end=\"968\" data-start=\"943\">a Russian-style <em data-end=\"967\" data-start=\"961\">isba<\/em>;<\/li>\n<li data-end=\"1030\" data-start=\"969\">artificial ruins, statuary, terraces and tropical planting;<\/li>\n<li data-end=\"1080\" data-start=\"1031\">monumental entrance gates from the Cimiez side.<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<p data-end=\"1221\" data-start=\"1082\">The park was designed beginning in 1867 by Joseph Carl\u00e8s, who remained responsible for it until 1913.<\/p>\n<h3 data-end=\"1250\" data-start=\"1223\">Tereshchenko connection<\/h3>\n<p data-end=\"1589\" data-start=\"1252\">The regional heritage inventory explicitly records that <strong data-end=\"1376\" data-start=\"1308\">the Valrose estate was rented to the Tereshchenko family in 1900<\/strong>, citing the society newspaper <em data-end=\"1425\" data-start=\"1407\">Le Monde \u00e9l\u00e9gant<\/em> of 9 December 1900. An academic history of Valrose likewise refers to the Tereshchenkos as tenants during the winter of 1900.<\/p>\n<p data-end=\"1988\" data-start=\"1762\">The official university and regional heritage pages contain numerous exterior, interior and garden photographs, including the ch\u00e2teau, theatre, dining room, music room, park and belvedere.<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0\u00a0 <img decoding=\"async\" height=\"1031\" src=\"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/wp-content\/uploads\/mak-archive\/images\/houses\/cannes\/chateaux_de_valrose_color.jpg\" style=\"height: 682px; width: 1001px\" width=\"1512\" loading=\"lazy\"><\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p>\u00a0<\/p>\n<p align=\"center\">\u00a0<\/p>","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"<p>Chateaux de Valrose Ch\u00e2teau de Valrose, Nice \u2014 winter residence rented by the Tereshchenko family in 1900. The estate occupies approximately 10 hectares at 28 avenue de Valrose, below Cimiez, and is now the headquarters and science campus of Universit\u00e9 C\u00f4te d\u2019Azur. The principal ch\u00e2teau is protected as a French historic monument. The Grand Ch\u00e2teau [&hellip;]<\/p>\n","protected":false},"author":3,"featured_media":0,"parent":296,"menu_order":0,"comment_status":"closed","ping_status":"closed","template":"","meta":{"footnotes":""},"class_list":["post-62","page","type-page","status-publish","hentry"],"_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/fr\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/62","targetHints":{"allow":["GET"]}}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/fr\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/fr\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/page"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/fr\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/3"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/fr\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=62"}],"version-history":[{"count":1,"href":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/fr\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/62\/revisions"}],"predecessor-version":[{"id":162,"href":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/fr\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/62\/revisions\/162"}],"up":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/fr\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/pages\/296"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/m-a-k.net\/fr\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=62"}],"curies":[{"name":"Bien jou\u00e9","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}